What's the definition of preemptively?

adjective. of or relating to preemption. taken as a measure against something possible, anticipated, or feared; preventive; deterrent: a preemptive tactic against a ruthless business rival. preempting or possessing the power to preempt; appropriative; privileged: a commander's preemptive authority.