How long is the longest word on earth?

It is difficult to say what the longest word in common usage is, because many languages such as German are agglutinative, meaning new words can be created by putting together smaller words. The current longest known word is the chemical name for the largest known protein, at 189819 letters long

---

The longest word on Earth is the chemical name for titin, which is the largest known protein. While "titin" has only five letters, the chemical name has 189,819 letters.