Where do pillows come from?

History of pillow dates back to around 7,000 BC in ancient Mesopotamia, modern day Iraq. These pillows were made of stone and obviously weren't comfortable, although comfort wasn't really their purpose. The function was to prevent insects from crawling into mouths, noses, and ears.