Who was deep throat in the watergate investigation?

Mark Felt, an associate director of the FBI, was the source of information to the Washington Post that was investigating Watergate, specifically working with reporters Woodward and Bernstein. Howard Simons, the managing editor at the Washington Post at the time, came up with the cover name.