Where does strawberries come from?

Strawberries, are the fruit of a low-growing plant that spreads by runners. Strawberries were first cultivated in Northern Europe, but wild varieties grow world wide in temperate climates. Wild strawberries typically have much smaller berries than the cultivated varieties.