Do you have to peel an english cucumber?

No. English cucumbers are usually untreated and unprocessed, leaving their skins edible and clean. Some people like to eat English cucumber skins because they add color, texture and fiber and it also tends to be free of the bitterness characteristic of the skin of slicing cucumbers.