What happened to poland in nineteen thirty nine?

On September 1st, 1939 Nazi Germany invaded Poland from the North, South, and West. Then on September 17, Soviet Russia invaded Poland from the east. Poland was essentially split in half with Germany taking control of the western side of the country, and Soviet Russia taking the east.