What's the difference between cumin and turmeric?

Turmeric comes from a root that looks a lot like ginger and has a bitter, pungent flavor that adds an “earthy feel” to dishes. Cumin is ground from seeds & has a spicy, nutty taste with a lemony undertone. It is noticeably sharper and more intense than turmeric.