What is a northeastern storm?

A nor'easter, or Northeaster, is a large scale cyclone in the western North Atlantic Ocean. The name derives from the direction of the winds that blow from the northeast. Typically, they originate as a low-pressure area, forming within 100 miles of the shore between North Carolina and Massachusetts.