How many vikings were there?

Viking refers to the raiding seafarers of the Norse people of modern Scandinavia. There are no specific lists of all these sailors. However, Prof. Kenneth Harl guesses the whole population in the Scandinavian areas during the Viking Age was between 800,000 and 1,000,000.