What is a chariots of fire?

Chariots of Fire, a film released in 1981, tells the true story of two British runners who brought glory to their country in the Olympic Games of 1924 in Paris. The film won both the BAFTA Award and the Academy Award for best picture and also garnered the Golden Globe Award for best foreign movie.