Is brown sugar vegan?

Brown Sugar is vegan only if it is labeled as Vegan or labeled Organic USDA Certified. During the refining process of sugar, bone char may be used to filter out color. Bone Char is of animal origin so it is not vegan. However, Organic USDA certification cannot use bone char filtering.