How long does a fifteen pound turkey take?

The average time to cook a turkey is 20 minutes per pound which is about five hours for a 15 pound turkey, but can vary depending on whether the bird is stuffed. To ensure proper doneness, an instant read thermometer in the thickest part of the thigh should read 165 degrees F.