What's a real i. d.?

"Real ID" is a program the U.S. government has implemented to more securely ensure that identity cards represent the person carrying them. To get a Real ID driver's license, a citizen must provide many more proofs of identity than before. Military bases will only accept Real IDs, soon.

---

On October 1, 2020, Americans will need a REAL ID-compliant driver’s license with REAL ID Star or another form of federally-acceptable identification (such as a valid passport or military ID) to board a domestic commercial flight or enter a federal building or military installation that requires ID.