What is the definition of a stern?

The definition of stern is the back or aft-most part of a ship or boat. It lies opposite the bow, or the front part of a ship. Originally, it only referred to the aft port section of the ship, but eventually came to refer to the entire back of a vessel.

---

The rear part of a boat.