Are potatoes and nightshade?

Potato and Tomato plants are from the same family as "Deadly Nightshade". While Potatoes and Tomatoes are safe to eat, the rest of the plant is poisonous. Potato seed pods look like small tomatoes. We have crossed them and made plants which grow tomatoes above ground and potatoes below ground.