What was ice cream invented?

The earliest ice cream came from China around 200 BCE.

---

While Thomas Jefferson has a well known recipe for vanilla ice cream, the first documented ice cream recipe was by Englishwoman Lady Anne Fanshawe in 1665. The recipe suggests flavoring the “icy cream” with orange blossom water, mace (a part of nutmeg), or ambergris.