What's the definition of kumquat?

any of several small yellow to orange citrus fruits with sweet spongy rind and somewhat acid pulp that are used chiefly for preserves also : a tree or shrub (genus Fortunella) of the rue family that bears kumquats.

---

A kumquat is a small, slightly bitter citrus fruit, about the size of a large grape. It is said to be useful in the holistic treatment of arthritis symptoms.