Why is ranch dressing called ranch?

In 1949, Steve Henson created a buttermilk type dressing while living in Alaska. Henson & his wife later moved & opened a dude ranch in California, called Hidden Valley Ranch. The dressing Henson had developed became the house specialty and was called Ranch dressing after the ranch it was served in.