What was the u. s. s. bismarck?

The Bismarck was a German Battleship built for the Kriegsmarine which was launched in 1939. The Kriegsmarine did not use any ship prefixes, so it was simply known as "Bismarck." It was one of the two largest ships ever built by a European power and was the largest battleship ever built by Germany.