How did stephen hawking become a paraplegic?

Hawking had a rare form of motor neuron disease (commonly known as Lou Gehrig's disease), a fatal neurodegenerative disease that results in the death of motor neurones in the brain and spinal cord, which gradually paralysed him over decades.