What is a high hernia?

A hiatal hernia is a type of hernia where the stomach slips through the diaphragm into the middle compartment of the chest. This may result in gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD) or laryngopharyngeal reflux (LPR) with symptoms of a taste of acid in the back of the mouth or heartburn.