What is the root word for tract?

The Latin root word tract means drag or pull. This root word gives rise to many English vocabulary words including attraction, subtract &contract. Perhaps the easiest way to remember this root word is through the English word tractor, for a tractor's main function is to drag or pull heavy equipment.