What's a skirt?

Imagine a pair of pants but you slit the inside seams. Then add a piece of fabric between your slits, sew together the inseams with the fabric and hem to knee length. You have a skirt. Or, just think of the bottom half of a dress. And you get a skirt

---

a garment fastened around the waist and hanging down around the legs, worn by women and girls.