Why do they call a tennis bracelet?

The term Tennis Bracelet was coined thanks to Chris Evert, after a ferocious tennis match at the US Open when her diamond bracelet broke and fell off her wrist. After that event jewelers created a bracelet with in line diamonds and secure clasps. This is now known as the "Tennis Bracelet".