What does it mean to zest lemon?

To zest a lemon means, to remove some of the outermost layer of a lemon peel while avoiding the white, inner Pith. According to all recipes.com, this outer layer contains loads of natural oils that are full of flavor and not, as acidic as, the juice. You can zest many citrus fruits.