When did sixty minutes first air?

September 24, 1968. Since its debut in 1968 on the Columbia Broadcast System, CBS, the show has become one of the most successful programs in broadcast history. Created by Don Hewitt and grounded in investigative journalism, 60 Minutes is television's longest continually running prime-time series.