How are hurricane categories determined ?

Hurricane categories are determined by the Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Wind Scale using a 1 to 5 rating based only on a hurricane's maximum sustained wind speed.

---

Hurricane categories are determined by how fast the wind is. A category 1 storm has max sustained winds of 74-95 mph. Category 2 has winds of 96-110 mph & Category 3 is 111-129 mph. Category 4 storms have winds of 130-156 mph & Category 5 is 157 mph or higher.