What happened in the year nineteen oh seven?

The first electric washing machine was released in 1907. In 1907, Americans had a life expectancy of just 45.6 years for men and 49.9 for women. Even worse, this was the year that typhoid, an abdominal disease spread through water and food supplies, ravaged the nation.