What's the difference between disinfecting and sanitizing?

Disinfecting is killing off germs and bacteria that have already began to spread. Sanitizing is just preventative maintenance so that the germs don’t evolve.

---

Sanitizing is meant to reduce, not kill, the occurrence and growth of bacteria, viruses and fungi. Disinfecting a surface will “kill” the microscopic organisms as claimed on the label of a particular product.