Why is it disrespectful to wear a hat indoors?

According to etiquette experts at the Emily Post Institute, the act of removing your hat indoors is a longtime sign of respect. In fact, it probably began with medieval knights. The rule also has roots in Christianity, as it's considered customary for men to remove their hats upon entering a church.