What is butter box babies?

Butterbox Babies is a film by Sullivan Entertainment and adapted from the book Butterbox Babies by Bette L. Cahill. The film and book are based on the true story of the Ideal Maternity Home, a home for unwed pregnant mothers, during the Great Depression and Second World War.