What is scotch whiskey made of?

Scotch whisky is malt whisky or grain whisky, made in Scotland. All Scotch whisky was originally made from malted barley. Commercial distilleries began introducing whisky made from wheat and rye in the late 18th century. As of 2020, there were 134 whisky distilleries operating in Scotland.