What temperature do you boil eggs?

Don't boil eggs to cook them, instead, place the eggs in a saucepan with cold water to cover and bring the water to a boil over high heat. Immediately remove the pan from heat, cover, and let stand 4 minutes for soft-boiled eggs; 12 minutes for hard-boiled. Transfer to ice water to cool completely.