How are chickens made?

Chickens are not born in the traditional sense. They hatch from eggs produced by a hen, or female chicken, after she mates with a rooster. This process is called fertilization. A hen produces eggs without a rooster.

---

Chickens are “made” by mating a rooster with a hen. Altho’ hens WILL lay eggs without a rooster, the only way they can be fertilized is to have a rooster available. A single rooster can mate up to 30 times a day. It only takes about 30 seconds once the hen agrees, which can take hours or days!