What's an asian lady beetle?

Seen as a sign of good luck, and often appearing in children's books and cartoons, these red- and black-spotted insects have plenty of great qualities: They prey on pests like aphids, spider mites, and mealy bugs that would otherwise destroy your plants and gardens