What do you wash your hair with if you have lice?

Each over-the-counter product approved by the FDA for the treatment of head lice contains one of the following active ingredients: Pyrethrins or Permethrin lotion. The following medications are available only by prescription only: Benzyl alcohol; Ivermectin; Malathion; and Spinosad.