How strong is ash's pikachu?

Ash's pikachu is not shown to have any extreme power, giving people and a spearow and light-medium shock, throughout the first episode until the end; where pikachu jumps into the air and is struck by a bolt of lightning immediately having the power to shock an entire flock of spearows along with Ash