How do you scare away mice?

First, store all food in metal containers. Seal up holes in your walls. Spread Peppermint oil, cayenne pepper, pepper or cloves around to repel the mice. You can also try ammonia because it smells like urine. Tubs of used kitty litter placed near any entrance also helps.