What makes the world spin?

4.6 billion years ago a huge cloud of dust and gas started to collapse under its own gravity, forming our Solar System. To conserve angular momentum, the cloud began to spin, and Earth was formed within this spinning cloud. As Earth formed, it kept this spinning motion.