What's the longest someone's ever survived without food?

The longest recorded case of survival without food and water is 18 days by Andreas Mihavecz (Austria), then aged 18. He was put into a holding cell on 1 April 1979 in a local government building in Austria, but totally forgotten by the police. On 18 April 1979, he was discovered close to death.