Why does godzilla have spikes?

Godzilla is a fictional monster invented by Tomoyuki Tanaka in 1954. He has spikes because Mr. Tanaka thought they made him look more monstrous and scary. Also, many real dinosaurs had spikes on their spines for defense, so it's not totally crazy for Godzilla to have them.