Who discovered the mississippi river?

The Native Americans knew of the Mississippi River long before the coming of the Europeans. Spanish explorer Alonso Álvarez de Pineda became the first recorded European to reach the Mississippi River in 1519, followed by Hernando de Soto who reached the river on May 8, 1541.