How long does it take to fry a cat fish?

If submerged in oil, catfish will float to the top of the pan when it's nearly done. No matter how you cook it, you'll know fish is done when it flakes easily and is no longer translucent. Cat fish in a frying pan generally requires 5 to 7 minutes of cooking on each side.