How do they make lava lamps?

Lava lamps work due to the buoyancy of the “lava” in the lamp. As it gets hotter, it becomes more buoyant than the liquid around it, causing it to rise. At the top, it begins to cool, becoming less buoyant and falling to the bottom; to be heated again.