What is two thousand and one about?

In 2001: A Space Odyssey, Dr. Dave Bowman and other astronauts are sent on a mysterious mission. Their ship's computer system, HAL, begins to display increasingly strange behavior, leading up to a tense showdown between man and machine that results in a mind-bending trek through space and time.