How many minutes do you cook an egg?

The boiling time needed to cook an egg depends on your desired results. Cook 4 minutes for slightly set yolk and set white. Cook 5 minutes for a medium cooked firmer yolk and white. Cook 6 minutes for hard boiled with lightly soft yolk. Cook 8 minutes for firmly hard boiled.