What is the papas of love?

The “Pompatus of love” is a lyric in the Steve Miller song “Space Cowboy”. Although the lyric is conventionally thought to be meaningless, it could be a corruption of the word “puppetuse” - a word originally coined by Vernon Green in his 1954 song, “The letter”.