What does it mean to give someone a complex?

By ridicule or verbal abuse you damage a person's self esteem or the way they view themselves.

---

The negative emotion a person has about themselves after being judged or insulted by another. Usually occurs when told an opinion that was presented as fact. (ie. You're ugly, you're too skinny, your acne looks worse, etc.)