What is the difference between ethos pathos and logos?

Logos refers to the use of logic and reason in expository text or speech. Ethos and Pathos refer to the emotional impact of the text or speech. Ethos is based in the author's or speaker's fundamental beliefs, while Pathos has to do with the emotional response of the reader or listener.